About Me


cropped-selena.jpg

Hi, my name is Selena! I am excited to tell you a little about myself. I am a first-generation college student at California State University, Monterey Bay majoring in psychology and minoring in statistics. I grew up in Visalia, which is in the Central Valley located next to Fresno.

7557694                                         nraUmieKSkK8xaErUyBu_csumb-wide-round                                         flat,550x550,075,f

00000000000000000000000

My Research & Research Interests


I am a McNair Scholar and Undergraduate Research Opportunities Center (UROC) Scholar under which I am able to conduct research. I am interested in Higher Education and am primarily interested in the field of research. I am excited about the work I am able to do with Dr. Kevin Grobman in his Perplexing Questions research laboratory as a research assistant. As one of my many opportunities in his lab, I work on a study that I developed over the past few semesters looking at how creativity and other non-cognitive abilities can attribute to student success in higher education. CSUMB is dedicated to supporting first-generation college students and students of minority backgrounds, and I am delighted to attend a university whose values are so close to my own and inline with my future goals. In the future, I ultimately wish to work with students in this population and find ways to improve their resources and tools for educational success.

I have had some exciting experiences as an undergraduate researcher. For example, as a part of UROC, I was funded to attend the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL) during Summer 2018. I was in the Minorities Health Disparities Initiative (MHDI), an National Institute of Health (NIH) funded program, where I investigated social support networks for Inuit women experiencing domestic violence. Being in the MHDI program also allowed me to present a final research poster at two summer symposiums, one for UNL and one for CSUMB!

(Read more about my experience through my blogs!)

me-at-window-writing.jpg
Me organizing my UNL thesis statement through operationalization–a new technique I learned that summer!

 

20180807_123440
UNL Summer Research Symposium (2018)

00000000000000000000000

Hobbies


On my free time, I like to write short stories or poetry, as well as read either horror or dystopian novels. I also like to listen to music and doodle to relax. During breaks from school, I love spending time with my family, friends and my pets, Q.D. (my chihuahua) and Gordy (my cat). I play 3 instruments, the piano, violin, and bass violin, and I am interested in learning the acoustic guitar! Below is one of my favorite quotes.

4674819-john-c-maxwell-quote-motivation-gets-you-going-but-discipline-endearing-enchanting-self-quotes

~ Thank you for reading a little about me! 🙂 ~

Advertisements